Big Names Left Out Of President Ruto’s Principal Secretaries List

President William Ruto has picked 51 candidates to serve as Principal Secretaries in several ministries. The nominees will be subjected to vetting from Parliamentarians before being appointed, they will oversee State departments for 21 ministries.

Former Lang’ata MP Nixon Korir, former Regional Development Principal Secretary in charge of Regional and Northern Corridor Development Belio Kipsang, and former Nairobi County Deputy Governor Jonathan Mueke are some of the well-known names on the list.

Former Nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura, former Acting Health Director Patrick Amoth, IEBC Commissioner Boya Molu, Incumbent Health Chief Administrative Secretary Mercy Mwangangi, former Samburu Governor Moses Lenolkulal and IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati’s wife are just a few of the notable individuals absent from the list of 51.

Only twelve out of the fifty-one nominees listed by President William Ruto to head the state departments are women, 23.5% of the nominees. A PS is one of the State’s highest public officials, as he or she is mandated to assist a Cabinet Secretary in providing government services to Kenyans.

Some of the men and women that made it to the list include Teresia Mbaika Malokwe (Devolution) and Esther Ngero (Performance and Delivery management). Additionally, Aurelia Rono (Parliamentary Affairs) and Caroline Nyawira Murage were chosen by President Ruto (Correctional Services). PS nominee Roseline Njogu has been listed to head the State Department for Diaspora, and Veronica Mueni Nduva will serve in the State Department for Gender and Affirmative Action.

Others are Sylvia Naseya Muhoro (Wildlife), Dr Josephine Mburu (Public Health), Esther Thaara Muhorias (TVETs), Beatrice Inyangala (Higher Education and Research), Susan Mangeni (MSMEs Development), Betsy Muthoni Njagi (Blue Economy and Fisheries), and Susan Mangeni (MSMEs Development).

Leave a Reply