President Ruto Signs The National Dialogue Committee (NADCO) Report Into Law 

President William Ruto signed the (NADCO) report into law at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC) witnessed by ODM party leader Raila Odinga and his Wiper party counterpart Kalonzo Musyoka. The law expands qualifications for commissioners to include candidates with a background in accounting and Information and Technology.

The National Dialogue Committee (NADCO) backed Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Bill 2024 welcomes a new electoral law that will allow the reconstitution of the Commission to enable it to carry out its key electoral mandates as stipulated in the constitution.

“The Assent to the IEBC Amendment Bill marks a significant step in the actualization of one of the recommendations of NADCO and the signing of this Bill paves way for the establishment of a selection panel for the appointment of IEBC Commissioners,” said Ruto.

IEBC comprises seven commissioners including a Chief Executive Officer who also acts as the commission secretary, appointed by them.

The commissioners are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Parliament with each member serving a six-year term. Currently, the commission does not have commissioners following the lapse of Chairman Wafula Chebukati’s tenure and that of commissioners Abdi Guliye and Bola Molu after the 2022 elections.

The Bomas of Kenya events witnessed on August 15, 2022, also led to the resignation of four other commissioners, including Juliana Cherera, who was vice chair at the time.

On his part, the Azimio Coalition leader Raila Odinga stressed that the Kenya Kwanza administration should prioritize discussions while tackling the nation’s pressing problems, such as the recent youth-led protests against the government.