Kipchumba Murkomen, Alice Wahome and Aden Duale Formally Resign as MPs After Approval By Parliament

Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen, Kandara MP Alice Wahome and Garissa Township MP Aden Duale tendered their resignations from the two houses after the National Assembly approved their nominations to the cabinet. The three had been nominated by President William Ruto to spearhead the Ministry of Roads, Transport and Public works, the ministry of water, sanitation and irrigation and the ministry of defence respectively.

Making his final address to the Senate in the form of a personal statement, Mr Murkomen said that his term as Elgeyo Marakwet’s senator was coming to an end. “This morning our sister House approved our names of cabinet secretary nominees including my name. Following that approval, my departure from this August House is now imminent. I am standing here with mixed feelings because the Senate has been my home for over 10 years,” said Murkomen. “The time has come that the tenure the people of Elgeyo Marakwet entrusted to me has to come to an end.”

At barely 33 years old then, the now 43-year-old Murkomen defeated political heavyweights like the late Nicholas Biwott, a minister during the Moi era who was known as the Total Man, to win the Senate election in 2013. He claimed that Elgeyo Marakwet voters chose to elect him in spite of his lack of experience and opposition from established leaders. In his farewell address on the House floor, Garissa Township MP Aden Duale, who served as the majority leader in the National Assembly during the 12th Parliament promised to collaborate with the members present as he transitioned to the executive branch of government.

“As I go to the Executive arm of government, I promise to work with members here. If any one of you wants my help, please do not hesitate to visit my office. I will make time for you, you will not wait unless, of course, you become too frequent and make it difficult for me to do my job.” Kandara MP Alice Wahome underpinned Duale’s sentiments noting the importance of supporting the National Assembly. With the three tendering their resignations the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission will soon declare their seats vacant after which a by-election will be held.

By Lavin Atieno

Leave a Reply