National Assembly Approves All The 24 Cabinet Secretary Nominees

The 24 Cabinet Secretary candidates proposed by President William Ruto have all been approved by the National Assembly to take up their respective roles as CSs. The approval by parliament paves the way for their appointment to the ministerial dockets. The National Assembly Committee on Appointments’ proposal to lock out Peninah Malonza for the position of CS Tourism and Wildlife was rejected by the House.

Ms Malonza according to the vetting report tabled in parliament on Tuesday was deemed unfit by the committee as she failed to demonstrate a grasp of the issues at hand. “The nominee did not demonstrate knowledge of topical, administrative and technical issues touching on the ministry. She lacked the requisite abilities and professional experience to be approved for appointment to the office of Cabinet Secretary,” the committee said on Ms Malonza.

After MPs voted to overturn the committee’s decision to reject Ms Malonza, Kitui Woman Representative Irene Kasalu moved a motion to declare her approved for the CS position. The House also confirmed the appointment of Musalia Mudavadi, who had been nominated by President Ruto to serve as Prime Cabinet Secretary. Mudavadi will oversee the execution of government programs by leading Principal Secretary Committees and coordinating legislative policy.

Former National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi (Attorney General), Garissa Township MP Aden Duale (Defense), and Labour Cabinet Secretary Simon Chelugui were also confirmed by the House. The others were former Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria (Trade, Investment and Industry), former Tharaka Nithi Senator Prof Kithure Kindiki (Interior and National Administration), Kandara MP Alice Wahome (Water, Sanitation and Irrigation), and Ms Susan Nakhumicha (Health).

In addition, former Narok Woman Representative Soipan Tuya, Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen (roads, transport, and public works), former Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) Governor Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u (national treasury, and planning), and former Nyaribari Masaba MP Ezekiel Machogu (Education) were also approved. The National Assembly also gave its approval to former Raila Odinga aide Mr Eliud Owalo (ICT and Digital Economy), former KenGen CEO Ms Rebecca Miano (East African Community, Arid and Semi-Arid Lands and Regional Development), Ms Florence Bore (Labor and Social Protection), and Mr Zacharia Njeru (Lands, Housing and Urban Development).

The House also approved Mr Davis Chirchir (Energy and Petroleum), Mr Alfred Mutua (Foreign and Diaspora Affairs), Mr Mercy Wanjau (Secretary to the Cabinet), Mr Salim Mvurya, a former governor of Kwale, and Mr Ababu Namwamba (Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts). In a Gazette Notice issued on Wednesday the head of state says the 24-member Cabinet will assume office today, after being sworn in at State House, Nairobi.

By Lavin Atieno

Leave a Reply